2018 Frank Hester scholarship students all win places at university

2018 Frank Hester scholarship students all win places at university

The 2018 recipients of the Frank Hester Scholarship picked up their A-level results today, each of them gaining places at university starting later this year.

The Scholarship was established in 2016 to aid students wanting to further their education but without the financial means to do so or who have circumstances that have adversely affected their education. The Scholarship was founded in 2016 with two partner organisations – Horsforth School and Tong Leadership Academy – and grew in 2017 to include Elliot Hudson College. TPP now selects three applicants to receive the scholarship fund each year, one from each of the partner organisations.

Mohammad Nemati, from Horsforth School, only moved to the UK 5 years ago and achieved excellent A level results in Computer Science, Maths and Physics. He will be starting a course in Electronic Engineering at the University of Leeds in September.

It was twice the happiness for twin sisters Layla and Kahina Abbott. Following Kahina’s successful Scholarship application last year, her sister Layla followed in her footsteps and became a successful applicant this year. Layla will be studying Physics at the University of Leeds, where her sister is already studying Spanish.

Holly Durno-Gumbley, the successful applicant from Tong Leadership Academy, secured a place at the University of Bradford to study Clinical Sciences, and is hoping to follow a career in medicine as a reconstructive surgeon in the military.

Dan Styles, Principal at Tong Leadership Academy, said: “Holly truly is an inspiration, and has been a fantastic role model for her peers throughout her time at Tong Leadership Academy. Her results and achievements are testament to the hard working, determined attitude she possesses. We are very proud of Holly and wish her every success in her future medical career.”

All of the students visited TPP’s offices in Horsforth today to collect the first instalment of their scholarship funds. They will each receive £3,333 from the company for every year of their course.